Application for Admission

How to Apply

Click here to get started on your journey to lifelong learning.


Our Programs

We have three undergraduate and 27 graduate programs to choose from.



Learn about the mode of learning and what makes UPOU different.

Dr. Garcia appointed as the new Dean of the Faculty of Management and Development Studies

UP Open University (UPOU) welcomes Dr. Primo G. Garcia as the new Dean of the Faculty of Management and Development Studies (FMDS) succeeding Dr. Inocencio E. Buot, Jr. who led FMDS for two terms.

Dr. Garcia has brought his expertise in the areas of organization studies, agribusiness management, research and development (R&D) management, and open and distance e-learning (ODeL) to the faculty. As the 4th Dean of FMDS, he aims to enhance the quality of teaching and learning experience and outcomes, enhance research quality, productivity and impact in priority areas of concern, harness ODeL and other platforms to deliver public service programs, build up administrative efficiency to support academic excellence and promote staff’s professional development and work-life balance.

Dr. Garcia has been a faculty member of FMDS since 2001 where he became the Program Chair of the Diploma in Research & Development Management (DR&DM) from 2002-2003 then in 2010 – 2013. Through his guidance, the DR&DM program underwent revision which involved the re-numbering and institution of new courses. Before embarking on his new post as Dean, he served as the Director of UPOU’s Information Office and Multimedia Centre. Under his leadership, distance education and the university was made known through exhibits, seminars and orientations all over the country, redevelopment of the university website, repackaging of communication collaterals, and the launching of social media accounts.

His direction ushered the production of promotional and educational videos, most notably the UPOU Networks, a web-based repository of open access educational materials in multimedia. He has also been involved in the development of online capacity building programs as well as online courses in leadership, business process management, child rights protection, and R&D managers.

Dr. Garcia holds a PhD in Organization Studies from the University of Melbourne, Master of Business in Agribusiness from the University of Queensland, and B.S. in Agribusiness (cum laude) from the University of the Philippines Los Ba&ntidle;os. (Paula Grace Muyco)

UP showcases outputs of its top scientists and artists at UP Knowledge Festival.

From 17 to 19 April 2016, the University of the Philippines will showcase the outputs of its top scientists and artists in the areas of food production, health, climate change, energy, technology, education and more.

Billed UP…

Read more: Knowledge festival

21st Century Education in an Open World