Application for Admission

How to Apply

Click here to get started on your journey to lifelong learning.


Our Programs

We have three undergraduate and 27 graduate programs to choose from.



Learn about the mode of learning and what makes UPOU different.

Quezon City, Philippines (July 21, 2016) - Dr. Dragan Gasevic, Professor and Chair in Learning Analytics at the University of Edinburgh and one of the world's leading experts in the field, will deliver a keynote address at the 30th Annual Conference of the Association of Asian Open Universities (AAOU2016) on 28 October 2016 at the Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria.

Dr. Gasevic will examine the role of learning analytics in improving higher education quality, equity and efficiency in the Global South. He comes to the Philippines as a guest of Digital Learning for Development (DL4D), a global research network on digital learning innovations in developing countries jointly funded by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) of Canada and the Department for International Development (DFID) of the United Kingdom, and administered by the Foundation for Information Technology Education and Development (FIT-ED) of the Philippines.

Dr. Gasevic is also the President of the Society for Learning Analytics Research, an Adjunct Professor in the School of Interactive Arts and Technology at Simon Fraser University, Adjunct Professor in the School of Education at the University of South Australia, and a Research Scientist in the LINK Research Lab at the University of Texas, Arlington. A computer scientist by training and skills, he recently founded ProSolo Technologies Inc, a software company that develops solutions for tracking, evaluating and recognizing competences gained through self-directed learning and social interactions. He supports the strengthening of an international research community on learning analytics through his work with the International Conference on Learning Analytics and Knowledge, the Learning Analytics Summer Institute and the Journal of Learning Analytics.

AAOU2016 is hosted by the University of the Philippines Open University. To register, go to

The Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) has invited the University of the Philippines Open University (UPOU) to be a partner institution in two international conferences in Malaysia in the second half of 2016.

UPOU is a partner institution in the International Conference on Communication and Media (i-COME'16), an International Communication Association…

Read more: UPOU Partners with UUM in Two International Conferences

UPOU and PPSC officials sign memorandum of agreement. (From left: Dean Primo G Garcia; Chancellor Melinda dP. Bandalaria; President Ricardo de Leon; and Dean Mauricio V. Ramos)

The University of the Philippines Open University (UPOU) facilitated a seminar-workshop for faculty members of the Master in Crisis and Disaster Risk Management…

Read more: UPOU Holds Seminar on Blended Learning; Signs MOU with PPSC

21st Century Education in an Open World